Skip to content

Writing to ministers

The content of this page is not being updated. Get up to date information on Writing to ministers at

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
Ministers may be contacted by email or post. We aim to reply within 17 working days.

To contact a Minister in their separate role as your constituency Assembly Member visit the National Assembly for Wales (external link).Each Minister’s biographical details page lists the devolved matters for which they have responsibility. Non-devolved matters remain the responsibility of the UK Government.

We welcome receiving correspondence in Welsh.  Any correspondence received in Welsh will be answered in Welsh and corresponding in Welsh will not lead to a delay in responding.  

Ministers receive a lot of correspondence and cannot always reply personally. You may therefore receive a reply on their behalf from a civil servant.

Where correspondence is copied to a number of Ministers we will normally issue only  one response on behalf of the Welsh Government. This is the case even if you e-mail each Minister separately.

If you are writing to us on behalf of someone else then data protection legislation may require us to seek consent from those individuals to confirm they are content for their personal data to be processed by Welsh Government in taking their query forward. You may use the attached form for this purpose.

We do not routinely respond to letters copied to Ministers If you are writing as part of an organised campaign we will generally only respond to the organiser. Individual campaign letters postcards and e-mails will be filed.

If you are an elected representative (including Assembly Members, Members of Parliament, Members of the European Parliament and councillors), see document below for information about writing to Ministers and how your correspondence will be processed.


First Minister
Carwyn Jones:

Counsel General
Jeremy Miles:  

Cabinet Secretary for Local Government and Public Services
Alun Davies:  

Cabinet Secretary for Finance
Mark Drakeford:

Cabinet Secretary for Health  and Social Services
Vaughan Gething:

Cabinet Secretary for Energy, Planning and Rural Affairs
Lesley Griffiths:

Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Transport
Ken Skates:

Cabinet Secretary for Education
Kirsty Williams:

Leader of the House and Chief Whip
Julie James:

Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport
Dafydd Elis-Thomas:

Minister for Housing and Regeneration
Rebecca Evans:

Minister for Environment
Hannah Blythyn:

Minister for Lifelong Learning and Welsh Language
Eluned Morgan:

Minister for Children and Social Care
Huw Irranca-Davies:


Cabinet Secretary/Minister for …
Welsh Government
5th Floor
Tŷ Hywel
Cardiff Bay
CF99 1N