Skip to main content

Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AM, First Minister of Wales

First published:
19 October 2015
Last updated:

Share this page

I would like to update Members on the process of preparing Regulations to make Welsh Language Standards specifically applicable to the organisations in the Welsh Language Commissioner’s second Standards Investigation.

The Commissioner’s second Standards investigation into a further 119 organisations (Annex A) came to an end on 6 February 2015. The Commissioner submitted 9 Standards reports to the Welsh Ministers at the end of May 2015. In accordance with section 66 of the Welsh Language Measure (Wales) 2011, I have given due regard to the Commissioner’s conclusions.  I have today published a report which responds to the Commissioner’s standards reports, as well as an appendix which responds to each of the Commissioner’s conclusions.

I am grateful for the Commissioner’s work.  The reports and her conclusions have been useful in giving us a greater understanding of which standards may be relevant to the organisations. We are also aware that, in reaching her conclusions, the Commissioner undertook additional research into the organisation’s functions and services, which included consideration of how they currently perform against their Welsh language schemes. This means that we are in strong position to proceed with the work of preparing Regulations to specify standards and make them specifically applicable to these organisations.    

Due to the large number of organisations in the second investigation and the variety of sectors covered, the intention is to introduce the Regulations gradually.  We will commence the laying of the next round of Regulations by the end of 2015. Thereafter we will introduce further Regulations. However, as noted in the attached Report, there may be a need to consult on Regulations for the health sector.  

We will continue to update Assembly Members on the rolling programme for making standards as it unfolds.



Organisations included in the Welsh Language Commissioner’s second Standards Investigation


  • Public Bodies: Government  (1 organisation)
    • Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Education and Training in Wales


  • Public Bodies: Local Government (25 organisations)
    • Powys Teaching Health Board 
    • Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
    • Cwm Taf University Health Board 
    • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board 
    • Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
    • Cardiff and Vale University Health Board 
    • Hywel Dda University Health Board.
    • Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust
    • Velindre NHS Trust 
    • Public Health Wales NHS Trust. 
    • NHS Business Services Authority 
    • Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Service 
    • South Wales Fire and Rescue Service 
    • North Wales Fire and Rescue Service. 
    • The Board of Community Health Councils in Wales 
    • Abertawe Bro Morgannwg Community Health Council
    • Aneurin Bevan Community Health Council
    • Betsi Cadwaladr Community Health Council
    • Brecknock and Radnor Community Health Council 
    • Cardiff and Vale Community Health Council 
    • Cwm Taf Community Health Council 
    • Hywel Dda Community Health Council 
    • Montgomeryshire Community Health Council. 
    • Civil Nuclear Police Authority 
    • British Transport Police Authority.


  • Schedule 5(1): Public Authorities (11 organisations)
    • South Wales Police and Crime Commissioner 
    • Dyfed Powys Police and Crime Commissioner 
    • North Wales Police and Crime Commissioner 
    • Gwent Police and Crime Commissioner 
    • Chief Constable of South Wales Police 
    • Chief Constable of Dyfed Powys Police o Chief Constable of North Wales Police 
    • Chief Constable of Gwent Police 
    • Chief Constable of the British Transport Police 
    • The General Pharmaceutical Council 
    • NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership


  • Schedule 5(3)(a) - Persons who advance learning and knowledge by teaching or research or by developing or awarding qualifications (2 organisations)
    • Coleg Ceredigion 
    • Coleg Sir Gâr 


  • Schedule 5 (5) – Persons providing services to the public who receive public money amounting to £400,000 or more in a financial year (7 organisations)
    • WEA Cymru 
    • National Association of Citizens Advice Bureaux 
    • Gofal Cymru o Royal Voluntary Service 
    • Hafal 
    • Leonard Chesire Disability 
    • Wallich-Clifford Community


  • Public Bodies: General (1) (21 organisations)
    • Cardiff and Vale College 
    • Coleg Cambria
    • Coleg y Cymoedd 
    • St David's Catholic College
    • Gower College Swansea 
    • Coleg Gwent 
    • Bridgend College 
    • Pembrokeshire College 
    • Grŵp Llandrillo Menai 
    • NPTC Group 
    • Career Choices Dewis Gyrfa o Swansea University 
    • Aberystwyth University 
    • Bangor University 
    • Cardiff University 
    • The University of Wales 
    • The University of Wales: Trinity Saint David 
    • The University of South Wales 
    • Glyndŵr University 
    • Cardiff Metropolitan University
    • The Open University


  • Public Bodies: General (2) (19 organisations)
    • National Museum Wales 
    • Wales Millennium Centre 
    • National Heritage Memorial Fund 
    • Student Loans Company Limited 
    • Natural Resources Wales 
    • Finance Wales 
    • The Arts Council of Wales 
    • Sport Wales 
    • Wales Council for Voluntary Action 
    • The Welsh Books Council 
    • The National Botanic Garden of Wales 
    • The National Library of Wales 
    • Welsh National Opera Limited 
    • Sianel 4 Cymru (S4C) 
    • The National Theatre Wales 
    • Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru 
    • The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) 
    • The Big Lottery Fund 
    • The Office of Communications (OFCOM)


  • Public Bodies: General (3) (16 organisations)
    • The Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education 
    • Colleges Wales Ltd 
    • The Children’s Commissioner for Wales 
    • The Commissioner for Older People in Wales
    • The General Teaching Council for Wales
    • The Higher Education Funding Council for Wales
    • The Care Council for Wales o Universities and Colleges Admission Service 
    • The National Institute of Adult Continuing Education 
    • The General Chiropractic Council 
    • The General Dental Council 
    • The General Medical Council 
    • The Nursing and Midwifery Council 
    • The General Optical Council 
    • The General Osteopathic Council
    • The Health and Care Professions Council


  • Public Bodies: General (4) (17 organisations)
    • Auditor General for Wales (AGW) 
    • Professional Standards Authority for Health and Social Care (PSA) 
    • Youth Justice Board for England and Wales (YJB) 
    • Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales (RCAHMW) 
    • Independent Police Complaints Commission 
    • Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) 
    • Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (LDBCW) 
    • UK Commission For Employment and Skills (UKCES) o Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) 
    • Valuation Tribunal for Wales (VTW) 
    • Information Commissioner's Office (ICO) 
    • The Mental Health Review Tribunal for Wales (MHRTW) 
    • The Special Educational Needs Tribunal for Wales (SENTW) 
    • Residential Property Tribunal Wales (RPTW) 
    • Agricultural Land Tribunal for Wales (ALTW) 
    • Data Unit Wales 
    • The Electoral Commission








Share this page