Skip to main content

There are 9 members of the Building Regulations Advisory Committee for Wales (BRACW).

The committee members have been appointed for a period of up to 3 years and cover specialist areas.

Chair: Professor Phillip Jones

Professor Phillip Jones has been the Head of School at the Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University, since 2004. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Architects in Wales. In his teaching and research activities Professor Jones has extensively covered energy use, environmental design and sustainability in the built environment.

Architect: Bernadette Kinsella

Bernadette has over 20 years’ experience in architecture and 15 years of those with Powell Dobson Architects predominantly working on residential projects. A Director since 2006 Bernadette has extensive experience in both the affordable housing and private residential sectors ranging from small bespoke projects, through to large master plans for national housebuilders.

Small housebuilder: Matthew Grey

Matthew is currently Construction Director with Welsh Regional Housebuilder Llanmoor Homes and has 20 years’ experience in the house building industry, specialising in Material Procurement, Construction methods, Building Regulations and Health & Safety Compliance. Matthew has previously been on working groups representing the house building industry with Welsh Government for the changes to Part L Building Regulations and the implementation of Fire sprinklers in Homes in Wales.

Approved inspector: Paul Williams

A Chartered Building Engineer and Area Technical Manager for the NHBC. He has extensive knowledge and experience in Building Control and construction which spans both the public and private sectors of the industry.

Sustainability: Steven Harris

A chartered architect with CRSH Architecture and Energy in Abergavenny, and Technical and Policy Director for Energence Ltd. Steven has also been a member of the zero carbon hub, and external advisor to DCLG, HMT and the GLA on zero energy policies.

Large housebuilder: Will Phillips

Will is the Technical Director for the South Wales region of Taylor Wimpey UK, having held this role for several years based in Cardiff, prior to this he held similar roles with two other PLC house builders. Will was also involved in Welsh Government technical working groups for the implementation of fire sprinklers in homes in Wales.

Structural engineering: Matthew Evans

Matthew is an Associate Director in the Buildings Team of ARUP in Cardiff with  over 25 years’ experience in the construction industry, 20 as a structural engineer. Matthew has led numerous multi-disciplinary project teams and also had extensive involvement with the Institution of Structural Engineers both locally in Wales as a past Branch Chairman and nationally as an ordinary member of Council.

Accessibility: Dr Robert Gravelle

Dr Gravelle brings a wealth of experience and skills surrounding the issues of Accessibility.  Dr Gravelle has previously worked for Cardiff County Council as a private accessibility consultant across a range of fields and is currently the Accessibility and Inclusion Manager with Transport for Wales Rail Services, working with the Metro project to ensure accessibility and inclusion is embedded into all decision making.

Local Authority Building Control: Peter Richards

Peter is an experienced building control practitioner and manager having worked in Local Authority for 37 years and is currently the Manager for Swansea Local Authority Building Control (LABC).   

He is a member of the Royal institute of Chartered Surveyors and has held the position of Chairman of LABC Cymru for 6 years.  He is also Chairman of the Safety Advisory Group for the Liberty Stadium Swansea and has recently been appointed to the Building Control Alliance.