Skip to content

Local transport

The content of this page is not being updated. Get up to date information on transport planning and strategy at

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
Local authorities are required to publish local transport plans.

There are nine local transport plans in Wales. These were approved by the Minister for Economy, Science and Transport on 20 May 2015. The plans were developed by local authorities using the 'Local transport plans guidance'.

The plans cover the following regions:

  • Bridgend
  • Cardiff
  • Mid Wales (Ceredigion, Gwynedd (Meirionnydd), Powys)
  • Monmouthshire
  • Newport
  • north Wales (Anglesey, Conwy, Denbighshire, Gwynedd (Arfon and Dwyfor), Flintshire, Wrexham)
  • south east Wales Valleys (Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Torfaen)
  • south west Wales (Carmarthenshire, Neath Port Talbot, Pembrokeshire, Swansea)
  • Vale of Glamorgan.

Copies of the plans are available by contacting the relevant local authority

Transport studies

Regional transport studies and reports from regional integrated transport task forces can be found on this page.