Skip to content

Childcare offer pilot areas

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

Taking Wales Forward commits the Welsh Government to providing 30 hours a week of government-funded early education and childcare for working parents of three and four year olds, for up to 48 weeks of the year.

Seven local authorities have been working with the Welsh Government to deliver the childcare offer since September 2017, and the Minister for Children, Older People and Social Care announced in June that a further seven authorities would begin delivering the offer from September 2018. 

The childcare offer is currently available to eligible parents across the whole of the following local authorities: 

  • Isle of Anglesey County Council; 
  • Gwynedd Council; 
  • Caerphilly County Borough Council; 
  • Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council;   
  • Flintshire County Council;
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf;
  • Ceredigion; and
  • Torfaen.
The childcare offer is currently available within selected areas of the following local authorities:

Swansea Council – the wards of Cockett; Dunvant; Gorseinon Gowerton; Kingsbridge; Upper Lougher; Lower Loughor; Morriston; Penclawdd; Penderry; Penyrheol; Llangyfelach; Llansamlet; Penllegaer; Pontarddulais; and West Cross. 

Newport - the wards of Rogerstone; Lliswerry; Malpas; St Julians; Stow Hill; Shaftsbury; Maesglas; Gaer. They will be extending the Offer throughout the entire authority from October 2018.

Neath Port Talbot - the wards of Tai-Bach; Resolven; Baglan; Aberavon; Pontardawe; Blaengwrach; Onllwyn; Bryn-coch South; Glyncorrwg; Gwaun-Cae-Gurwen; Cymer; Lower Brynamman.

Conwy - the wards of Kinmel Bay; Towyn; Pensarn; Gele; Llanddulas; Trefriw; Betws y Coed;  Caerhun; Uwch Conwy ; Llanfair TH; Pentrefoelas; Tudno; Mostyn; Gogarth; Llangernyw; Llansannan; Betws Yn Rhos; Eglwysbach; Gower; Crwst; Uwchaled; Pentre Mawr.

Wrexham - the wards of Llay; Gwersyllt East and South; Gwersyllt North; Gwersyllt West; New Broughton; Coedpoeth; Ponciau; Gresford East and West; Rossett; Marford and Hoseley; Holt; Bronington; Overton and Brymbo.

Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Conwy and Wrexham are proposing to proceed to full authority roll out from January 2019.

Implementation in Cardiff will begin in the autumn in the following wards - Grangetown; Butetown; Riverside; Adamsdown; Cathays; Plasnewydd; Caerau; Splott; Ely; Llanrumney followed by roll out across the rest of the city.

The Minister for Children, Older People and Social Care has also announced that the offer will be available across the whole authority in, Carmarthenshire, Denbighshire, Merthyr Tydfil and Monmouthshire from January 2019 with implementation in the Vale of Glamorgan planned from early 2019.

Bridgend, Powys and Pembrokeshire will see the offer being delivered from April 2019.

If you live in one of these pilot areas, please visit your authorities website or your Family Information Service for more details on if you’re eligible for the offer and how to apply.