Skip to content

National Adoption Service for Wales

Related Links

These directions are to ensure effective joint arrangements between local authorities in Wales for adoption services.
Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

The National Adoption Service has been launched and will speed up the adoption process in Wales.

It will give more children the opportunity to become part of a loving and supportive family. It will increase the pool of adopters and ensure good quality post-adoption support is available.

The National Adoption Service for Wales  (external link) is being delivered to a new collaborative model. It brings together all Welsh local authorities and a broad range of key organisations and expertise.  

Most adoption services will now be delivered by five regional collaboratives:

  • North Wales: Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire, Gwynedd, Wrexham and Ynys Mon
  • South East Wales (SEWAS): Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Monmouthshire, Newport, Torfaen
  • Mid and West Wales: Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire, Powys
  • Western Bay: Bridgend, Neath Port Talbot, Swansea
  • Vale, Valleys and Cardiff: Cardiff, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Vale of Glamorgan.

The service will be led and delivered by local government. They will work closely with voluntary sector partners including Adoption UK, After Adoption, Barnardo’s Cymru and St David’s Children’s Society and Association of Fostering and Adoption Cymru .

It will be overseen nationally by a newly appointed Director of Operations.

Adoption information and intermediary services (Pre-commencement adoptions)(Wales) Regulations 2005 guidance (December 2006)

The letter advises of an amendment to paragraph 32.