Skip to content

Air Quality Standards (Wales) Regulations

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
These regulations bring into law in Wales the limits set out in European Union (EU) Daughter Directives on Air Quality. The regulations require that Welsh Ministers divide Wales into air quality zones.

The EU Directive 2008/50/EC on ambient air quality and cleaner air for Europe - known as the CAFÉ Directive - came into effect on 11 June 2008. It consolidates and repeals previous ambient air quality legislation with the exception of the Fourth Daughter Directive. The Fourth Daughter Directive relates to arsenic, cadmium, mercury, nickel and polycyclic hydrocarbons in ambient air.  

The Air Quality Standards (Wales) Regulations 2010 incorporate the CAFÉ Directive and the Fourth Daughter Directive into Welsh law, and replace the Air Quality Standards (Wales) Regulations 2007. The Regulations come into force on 11 June 2010.  

The attached map details the two air quality zones in Wales: North Wales and South Wales. The map also details agglomerations in Wales. An agglomeration is an area that has a population of over 250,000 inhabitants.