Skip to content

Special areas of conservation

These are strictly protected sites designated under the European Union Habitats Directive.

They are designated for their important contribution to the conservation of natural habitats and species of the plants and animals they support.

These habitat types, animals and plants are considered to be of European importance.

Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) can be located on land and/or at sea and, together with Special Protection Areas (SPAs), forms part of the Natura 2000 Network (external link).

Natural Resources Wales (external link) advise us on the selection of areas of land and sea which are of national and international importance for wildlife.

On consideration of advice received from Natural Resources Wales Welsh Ministers decide whether to submit candidate sites to the European Commission for designation.

See also:

Special Areas of Conservation in Wales (external link)

All Special Areas of Conservation in the UK (external link)

Protected areas of land and seas (external link)