Skip to content

Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales

The content of this page is not being updated. Get up to date information on Qualifications at

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

The Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales (CQFW) is an all-inclusive meta-framework designed to provide greater clarity on the qualifications system in Wales.

It includes three pillars of learning, namely – higher education (HE), regulated qualifications which includes vocational and general qualifications, and Quality Assured Lifelong Learning (QALL).


  • is an enabling tool in relation to Welsh Government’s economic and skills policies and goals
  • offers a national qualifications framework for learners in Wales of all ages and abilities
  • provides a common currency for learning achievement
  • supports the recognition of credit and qualifications across all levels, enabling learners to progress
  • facilitates providers to articulate pathways of progression that are easily understood and are transferable and consistent within Europe and the wider International community

The CQFW encompasses a range of credit and qualifications that can be awarded to learners undertaking a wide range of learning, including general and vocational training.

In order to be acknowledged within the CQFW, all learning provision must be developed in accordance with its High Level Principles

The CQFW is managed by a strategic operational partnership comprising Welsh Government, Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) and Qualifications Wales.

The CQFW is aligned to the European Qualifications Framework.

If you require any further information please contact

More information is available on the Skills for Europe website.

Document Download

PDF Document (MFS)
CQFW brochure (File size: 450KB)
PDF Document (MFS)
CQFW Fan diagram 2017 (File size: 1.1MB)
PDF Document (MFS)
Level descriptors (File size: 100KB)