Skip to content

The Culture Group

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

The Culture Group was a Ministerial advisory group.

In October 2012, the then Minister for Housing, Regeneration and Heritage decided that the existing Arts Strategy Board had met its objectives.

He identified that there was a role for a similar advisory group, but one that represented his wider cultural portfolio. Accordingly, with the same remit as the Arts Strategy Board, the Culture Group, that would meet biannually was established.


Chair, Minister responsible for arts and culture

  • Arts Council Wales: Chair, Chief Executive  
  • Arts & Business Cymru: Chief Executive  
  • Welsh Books Council: Executive
  • British Council: Director Wales
  • National Library: Chief Executive  
  • National Museum: Chief Executive
  • Ffilm Cymru: Chief Executive
  • Voluntary Arts Wales: Chair                                  
  • WLGA: Director Lifelong Learning, Leisure & Information; Leisure & Information; Spokesperson on Leisure, Culture, Major Events.
Welsh Government
  • Director responsible for Culture
  • Director Tourism, Heritage and Sport
  • Deputy Director responsible for Arts
  • Head of Branch Arts
  • Director Cadw
  • Director CyMAL.