# Adran yr Economi a Thrafnidiaeth Department for Economy and Transport



26 June 2024

#### **ATISN 19638**

Thank you for your request for information dated 29 May.

### Information requested

You asked us who the Member of Senedd was who signed off the amount of funding to Sustrans between 2008 to 2024.

#### Our response

The funding awarded to Sustrans by Welsh Government and its predecessors between 2008 and 2024 fell under different Minister's responsibilities. Funding was broadly awarded from portfolios covering Health, Transport and Regeneration. The table below lists the Ministers from whose portfolios payments to Sustrans were made for each financial year from 2008 to 2024. The Ministers have overall responsibility for their budgets, however this does not mean that the Minsters listed personally approved individual schemes, as this responsibility may have been delegated to officials.

Financial Year	Minister responsible for Health	Minister responsible for Transport	Minister responsible for Regeneration
2008-09	Edwina Hart AM	leuan Wyn Jones AM	Jocelyn Davies AM
2009-10	Edwina Hart AM	leuan Wyn Jones AM	Jocelyn Davies AM
2010-11	Edwina Hart AM	leuan Wyn Jones AM	Jocelyn Davies AM
2011-12	Edwina Hart AM & Lesley Griffiths AM	leuan Wyn Jones AM & Carl Sargeant AM	Jocelyn Davies AM & Huw Lewis AM
2012-13	Lesley Griffiths AM	Carl Sargeant AM & Edwina Hart	Huw Lewis AM & Carl Sargeant AM
2013-14	Mark Drakeford AM	Edwina Hart AM	Carl Sargeant AM
2014-15	Mark Drakeford AM	Edwina Hart AM	No funding awarded

## Adran yr Economi a Thrafnidiaeth Department for Economy and Transport

2015-16	Mark Drakeford AM	Edwina Hart AM	No funding awarded
2016-17	Mark Drakeford AM &	Edwina Hart AM &	No funding awarded
	Vaughan Gething AM	Ken Skates AM	
2017-18	Vaughan Gething AM	Ken Skates AM	No funding awarded
2018-19	No funding awarded	Ken Skates MS	No funding awarded
2019-20	No funding awarded	Ken Skates MS	No funding awarded
2020-21	No funding awarded	Ken Skates MS	No funding awarded
2021-22	No funding awarded	Ken Skates MS &	No funding awarded
		Lee Waters MS	
2022-23	No funding awarded	Julie James MS &	No funding awarded
		Lee Waters MS	
2023-24	No funding awarded	Julie James MS &	No funding awarded
		Lee Waters MS	

#### **Next steps**

If you are dissatisfied with the Welsh Government's handling of your request, you can ask for an internal review within 40 working days of the date of this response. Requests for an internal review should be addressed to the Welsh Government's Freedom of Information Officer at:

Information Rights Unit, Welsh Government, Cathays Park, Cardiff, CF10 3NQ

or Email: Freedom.ofinformation@gov.wales

Please remember to quote the ATISN reference number above.

You also have the right to complain to the Information Commissioner. The Information Commissioner can be contacted at: Information Commissioner's Office, Wycliffe House,

Water Lane,

Wilmslow,

Cheshire,

SK9 5AF.

However, please note that the Commissioner will not normally investigate a complaint until it has been through our own internal review process.

Yours sincerely