

PUBLICATION, DOCUMENT

Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales meeting: 25 May 2023

Minutes of the commission's meeting on 25 May 2023.

First published: 16 May 2024

Last updated: 16 May 2024

This document was downloaded from GOV.WALES and may not be the latest version. Go to https://www.gov.wales/independent-commission-on-the-constitutional-future-of-walesmeeting-25-may-2023-html for the latest version. Get information on copyright.

Contents

Present

Welcome

Minister for Finance and Local Government

Local government leaders

This document was downloaded from GOV.WALES and may not be the latest version. Go to https://www.gov.wales/independent-commission-on-the-constitutional-future-of-walesmeeting-25-may-2023-html for the latest version. Get information on copyright.

Present

Co-chairs

- Rowan Williams
- Laura McAllister

Commission members

- Anwen Elias
- Lauren McEvatt
- Michael Marmot
- Albert Owen
- Philip Rycroft
- Kirsty Williams
- Leanne Wood

Item 2

- Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government, Welsh Government
- Reg Kilpatrick, Director General for Covid Recovery and Local Government Group, Welsh Government
- Dr Lisa James, Local Government Policy Division, Welsh Government
- Anna Adams, Tax Strategy & Intergovernmental Relations, Welsh Government

Item 3

- Cllr Huw David, Leader of Bridgend County Borough Council
- Cllr Llinos Medi, WLGA Plaid Group Leader, and Leader of Isle of Anglesey
 County Council
- Cllr Mark Pritchard, WLGA Independent Group Leader, and Leader of Wrexham Borough Council
- Chris Llewelyn, WLGA Chief Executive, Welsh Local Government Association
- Naomi Alleyne, Director of Social Services and Housing, Welsh Local Government Association

Secretariat

- Gareth Morgan, Deputy Director and Head of Secretariat
- Heulwen Mai Vaughan, Secretary
- · Carys Evans, Adviser
- Ruth Leggett, Head of Communications and Engagement
- Rhiannon Perkins, Engagement Lead
- Tessa Hajilambi, Office Manager

Apologies

- Miguela Gonzalez
- Shavanah Taj
- Gareth Williams
- Cllr Rob Stewart, WLGA Deputy Leader & Leader of Swansea Council (item 3)

Item 1: Welcome from the co-chairs

1. The Co-chairs welcomed the commissioners, and noted apologies.

Item 2: Minister for Finance and Local Government

2. The co-chairs welcomed to the meeting Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government. The minister discussed the Welsh Government's relationship with local government in Wales, and funding for Wales.

Item 3: Local government leaders

3. The co-chairs welcomed the local government leaders to the meeting. The leaders discussed the relationship between local government in Wales and the Welsh Government, funding issues, and democratic participation.

This document may not be fully accessible. For more information refer to our accessibility statement.

This document was downloaded from GOV.WALES and may not be the latest version. Go to https://www.gov.wales/independent-commission-on-the-constitutional-future-of-walesmeeting-25-may-2023-html for the latest version. Get information on copyright.