Skip to main content

A list of the centres in Wales that have been identified to host private candidates.

Part of:
First published:
12 April 2021
Last updated:

Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council

Brynmawr Foundation School

Headteacher: Mr McNamara
Contact: McNamaraG2@Hwbcymru.net or Brynmawrfoundationschool@gmail.com

Intermediate Road
Ebbw Vale
NP23 4XT

Contact number: 01495 310527

Bridgend County Borough Council

Contact: Gail Biggs gail.biggs@bridgend.gov.uk
Telephone number: 01656815129

Caerphilly County Borough Council

Contact: Rhys Evans, Head of Provision for Vulnerable Learners

Email: Evansr11@caerphilly.gov.uk

Contact: Sarah Ellis, Head of Inclusion and ALN

Email: elliss@caerphilly.gov.uk

Cardiff Council

Contact: Michael Tate, Deputy Director of Education and Lifelong Learning

Email: Michael.Tate@cardiff.gov.uk

Telephone number: 02920 872460

Carmarthenshire County Council

Contact - Aeron Rees, Head of Curriculum and Wellbeing jarees@carmarthenshire.gov.uk

Ceredigion County Council

Ysgol Penglais School

Headteacher: Mrs Mair Hughes
Contact: Phil Jones (pjj@penglais.org.uk)

Waun Fawr
Aberystwyth
Ceredigion
SY23 3AW

Contact number: 01790 624811

Conwy County Borough Council

Contact: Anwen Brown, EHE Officer for Conwy.

Email: anwen.brown@conwy.gov.uk

Contact number: 01492 576054

Denbighshire County Council

Christ the Word Catholic School

Headteacher: Amanda Preston

Contact: christtheword@denbighshire.gov.uk or Amanda.Preston@denbighshire.gov.uk

Cefndy Road
Rhyl
LL18 2EU

Contact number: 01745 352999

Flintshire County Council

St David’s High School

Headteacher: Mr Steve Richardson

Contact Officer: James Walker

St David’s Terrace
Saltney
Flintshire
CH4 0AE

Contact number: 01244 671583

Gwynedd Council

Ysgol Brynrefail

Headteacher: Mrs Ellen Williams

Llanrug
Gwynedd
LL55 4AD

Contact: 01286 672381

Email: eaw@brynrefail.gwynedd.sch.uk

Isle of Anglesey County Council

Ysgol Uwchradd Caergybi

Alderley Terrace
Holyhead
Anglesey
LL651NP

Contact number: 01407 762219

Email: yucoffice@anglesey.gov.uk

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

EHE learners working towards WJEC qualifications:

Ty Dysgu

Homfrey
Alexandra Avenue
Merythr Tudful
CF47 9AF

For further information please contact our EHE officer, Susanne Powell Susanne.powell@merthyr.gov.uk

Monmouthshire County Council

Monmouthshire Pupil Referral Service

Coordinator: Gareth Morgan Head of Pupil Referral Unit

GarethMorgan@monmouthshire.gov.uk

Contact number: 07825898088

Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

Cefn Saeson Secondary School

Headteacher: Mr D Cole cefnsaeson@hwbcymru.net

Afan Valley Road
Cimla
Neath
SA11 3TA

Contact number: 01639 791300

Newport City Council

Bridge Achievement Centre

Stephenson Street
Newport
NP19 0RB

Examination Officer: Craig Hawkins - craig.hawkins@newport.gov.uk

Contact number: 01633 235354

Pembrokeshire County Council

Pembrokeshire College
Merlins Bridge
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire
SA61 1SZ

Contact number - 01437 753000

Exam information email: mis@pembrokeshire.ac.uk

Powys County Council

Llanidloes High School

Headteacher: Dan Owen dowen@llanidloes-hs.powys.sch.uk

Llangurig Road
Llanidloes
SY18 6EX

Contact number: 01686 412289

Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council

Tonyrefail Community School

Headteacher: Mrs Heather Nicholas

Gilfach Road
Tonyrefail
CF39 8HG

Contact number: 01443 670647

admin.tonyrefailcs@rctcbc.gov.uk

Ysgol Nant Gwyn

Headteacher: Mrs Kirsty Retallick

Llewellyn Street
Penygraig
Rhondda Cynon Taf
CF40 1HQ

Contact number: 01443 436171

Email address: admin@ysgolnantgwyn.co.uk

City and County of Swansea Council

Bishop Gore School

Headteacher: Helen Burgum

Address

Del-la-Beche Road
Sketty
Swansea
SA2 9AP

Email address: contactus@bishopgore.net

Torfaen County Borough Council

Abersychan School

HeadteacherMr Phillip Collins Phillip.Collins@torfaen.gov.uk

Address

Incline Rd
Abersychan
Pontypool
NP4 8PQ

Telephone number: 01495 773068

Vale of Glamorgan Council

Stanwell School Penarth

Archer Road
Penarth
CF64 2XL

Contact: Trevor Brown TBrown@stanwell.org / school@stanwell.org

Ysgol y Deri Special School

Sully Road
Penarth
CF64 2TP

Contact: Joanna Roberts JRoberts@yyd.org.uk

Wrexham County Borough Council

Contact: Dafydd Ifans - Dafydd.Ifans@wrexham.gov.uk

Contact: Amanda Hassell – Amanda.Hassell@wrexham.gov.uk