Skip to main content

There are three basic licence categories available.

Part of:
First published:
1 October 2021
Last updated:

These are:

Category A licences

Category A licences allow full access to all stocks available to UK vessels. They include all licences for under 10 metre vessels, and pelagic licences for over 10 metre vessels.

Category B licences

Category B licences allow restricted access to all available stocks.

Category C licences

Category C licences allow more restricted access to available stocks. 

These licences may include additional entitlements to cover:

  • beam trawl fishing
  • certain shellfish entitlements
  • fishing for Deep Water Species