Skip to main content

What rules you must follow when arriving from overseas to reduce the risk of spreading COVID-19.

First published:
19 February 2021
Last updated:

To reduce transmission of COVID-19 when arriving from overseas you must follow border rules depending on where you have travelled from.

Arriving from the Common Travel Area

The Common Travel Area is the UK, Ireland, Isle of Man and the Channel Islands.

If you have only been in the Common Travel Area (CTA) for the last 10 days:

  • you do not need to have a negative test within 72 hours prior to travelling
  • you do not need to complete a Passenger Locator Form
  • you do not need to isolate for 10 days

Arriving from amber list countries or territories

Amber list countries and territories are places that are not in the Common Travel Area or on the red list of countries

If you have been in or travelled through an Amber list country in the last 10 days:

When using the CTM booking portal to book tests, if your airport is not named in the drop down box, choose ‘other’

Arriving from red list countries or territories

Red list countries or territories are those under additional measures and have additional rules that must be followed.

Read a list of countries on the red list.

 If you have been in or travelled through any of these countries in the last 10 days:

A very limited number of exemptions from isolation and testing apply if you have travelled from a red list country.

People who are exempt from isolation on arrival in Wales from overseas

Some people are exempt from isolation if they have certain jobs or occupations.

Find out more about people who are exempt from isolation.