Skip to content

National Assembly for Wales

Related Links

The Cabinet is the main decision-making body of the Welsh Government.
The National Assembly for Wales and the Welsh Government are 2 distinct organisations – the same as the UK parliament and UK government.

The National Assembly for Wales is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and its people, makes laws for Wales and holds the Welsh Government to account. It has 60 elected Assembly Members (AMs). It is the Welsh equivalent to the UK parliament in Westminster, which houses every MP from across the UK. The Senedd in Cardiff Bay is the home of the debating chamber for the National Assembly for Wales.

The Welsh Government is constituted by the First and other Ministers.

Elections to the National Assembly for Wales are held every 4 years. The Welsh Government is formed by the party - or coalition of parties - holding most seats.

For more information visit the National Assembly for Wales (external link).