Skip to content

British-Irish Council

The British-Irish Council promotes the development of mutually beneficial relationships among the peoples of the British Isles.

The British-Irish Council (BIC) was established under the Belfast Agreement 1998 (also known as the Good Friday Agreement), which sets out the basis of the Northern Ireland peace process.

The Belfast Agreement defines the BIC's purpose as being:

"to promote the harmonious and mutually beneficial development of the totality of relationships among the peoples of these islands".

Membership of BIC includes representatives from the following:

  • The British and Irish governments
  • The devolved administrations in Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland
  • The Crown dependencies in the Isle of Man, Guernsey and Jersey.

BIC is unique in that it is the only international forum in which these 8 member administrations participate. All members act in accordance with their own democratic procedures and are accountable to their respective elected institutions.

Further information about BIC can be found on British-Irish Council (external link).