Skip to content

St David Awards

St David Awards
Recognising the exceptional achievements of people in Wales.

The St David Awards annually recognise and celebrate the exceptional achievements of people in Wales. They acknowledge people who are making a real difference for this country – either at home or abroad.

The awards reflect and promote the aspirations of Wales and its citizens to be a modern, vibrant country, with a growing reputation as a confident and clever nation valuing innovation, community spirit, and above all its people.

They operate over the entire country - they are the "awards of awards" and the natural destination for all those who have won other sectoral or community awards.

There are 9 St David Awards:

  • Bravery
  • Citizenship
  • Culture
  • Enterprise
  • Innovation, Science & Technology
  • International
  • Sport
  • Young Person
  • First Minister's Special Award

The first 8 awards are nominated for by the general public.

The Awards Advisory Committee members perform the difficult work of selecting and evaluating nomination submissions and draw up a shortlist of 3 finalists for the First Minister to consider as possible winners in each award category.

The Winner of the 9th award, the First Minister’s Special Award, is chosen by the First Minister.

You can submit nominations for yourself, individuals or groups you consider worthy of receiving an award until midnight on 18 October 2017.

Twitter: @stdavidawards