Skip to content

History of First Ministers of Wales

Carwyn Jones AM
Since the National Assembly for Wales came in to being, there have been 2 First Ministers and 2 First Secretaries of Wales.

The First Minister’s post was originally known as First Secretary following the establishment of the National Assembly for Wales in 1999, but became known as First Minister in 2000. Since May 2007, following the 2006 Government of Wales Act, the title was formally renamed First Minister of Wales and the First Minister was made ‘Keeper of the Welsh Seal’.

The First Secretaries were Alun Michael from 12 May 1999 - February 2000 and Rhodri Morgan from February 2000 until October 2000.

First Ministers to date include Rhodri Morgan from October 2000 until December 2009 when he was succeeded by Carwyn Jones.