Skip to content

Written Statement - First meeting of European advisory group.

Carwyn Jones, First Minister

During the summer, and again in my oral statement of 13 September, I committed to establishing a European Advisory Group to provide advice to the Welsh Government on the challenges and potential opportunities Wales faces arising from the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union. It will also consider how Wales can best secure a continued positive relationship with Europe.

The Advisory Group, which is chaired by the Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government, met for the first time this morning and brought together a range of individuals with expertise in European issues including Members of the European Parliament, business leaders and representatives from universities, colleges, trade unions, agriculture, public services and the third sector.  Areas covered at the first meeting included developments since the referendum both within Wales and at a UK level, as well as a range of key issues and cross-cutting themes including: the single market; migration; social, environmental and economic protections; legislative, financial and constitutional implications; and Wales’ position in Europe.

The Advisory Group has a wealth of expertise and experience.  The issues raised by the UK’s departure from the European Union go far beyond the interests of any particular party or Government. No single individual or party has a monopoly on good ideas, and we look forward to further benefitting from this group’s advice.

Discussions within the European Advisory Group are in confidence but updates on its work will be provided as part of the Welsh Government’s regular reporting to the National Assembly of progress on work related to the UK’s withdrawal from the EU.

European Advisory Group members:
Councillor Phil Bale                   Leader of City of Cardiff Council
Kevin Crofton                           President, SPTS Technologies Ltd
Professor Richard B. Davies       Vice-Chancellor, Swansea University
Jill Evans MEP                          Member of the European Parliament
Nathan Gill MEP                       Member of the European Parliament
David Jones OBE                      Principal and Chief Executive, Coleg Cambria
Sir Emyr Jones Parry                President, Aberystwyth University                                      
Dr Hywel Ceri Jones                 Former EU Funding Ambassador
Tom Jones OBE                       European Economic and Social Committee
Lord Kinnock                           Former Vice-President of the European Commission
Martin Mansfield                      General Secretary, Wales TUC
Ruth Marks MBE                      Chief Executive, Wales Council for Voluntary Action
Baroness Eluned Morgan AM     Former Member of the European Parliament
William Powell                         Chair of the Cross Party Group on Europe in the Fourth Assembly
Professor Colin Riordan            President and Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
Kevin Roberts                         Chair of the Agriculture Partnership Board
Dr Kay Swinburne MEP            Member of the European Parliament
Derek Vaughan MEP                Member of the European Parliament
Emma Watkins                        Director, CBI Wales