Skip to content

ESF Development and Priority Delivery Project

Related Links

Funding for a key public services project is being increased by £4million so that it can expand to include the third sector, Minister for Local Government and Communities, Carl Sargeant announced.
The Wales European Funding Office (WEFO) Logo
The Welsh European Funding Office (WEFO) has approved a £4 million expansion bringing the Third Sector into the project under European Social Fund (ESF) Priority 4.

Total budget is now £ 17 million.

The Development and Priority Delivery Project enables the delivery of a number of citizen focused initiatives to deepen the impact of the 15 Local Service Boards (LSBs).

The project focus is ‘learning by doing’. Delivery of locally and regionally generated projects will drive the system change and support cultural changes needed to transform public services through more effective collaborative working enabling us to:

  • work with LSBs, or groups of LSBs to generate and fund projects which build on recent innovation but are more ambitious and strategic
  • work with the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) , Regional Partnership Boards (RPBs), Communities First Partnerships (CFPs), local Community Voluntary Services (CVC) and Wales Council for Voluntary Action (WCVA) thereby supporting collaboration at regional, local and community level in the Convergence area
  • build the skills and expertise required to deliver change across organisational boundaries. This will support the work of the Efficiency and Innovation Programme and Board, particularly the new models of service delivery workstream
  • step up the process of learning transfer through learning networks and secondments.

The opportunity to draw down European funding helps to increase the number of change projects led by the LSBs, and in particular to accelerate joint projects stimulating collaboration across a number of LSBs, the RPBs, CFPs and CVCs.

What are the Convergence Areas?

The Convergence area contains the 15 Local Authorities: Isle of Anglesey, Conwy, Denbighshire, Gwynedd, Ceredigion, Pembrokeshire, Carmarthenshire, Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Bridgend, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Merthyr Tydfil, Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly and Torfaen.

For further information, visit the WEFO website