Skip to content

The Clean Air Act 1993

This legislation aims to protect public health from smoke emissions.

Local Authorities can declare ‘Smoke Control Areas’ and within these, there is a ban on smoke emissions.

In Wales there are four such (partial) areas:

  • Flintshire
  • Newport
  • Swansea
  • Wrexham.

The Smoke Control Areas (Exempted Fireplaces) Order and (Authorised Fuels) Regulations

Certain fireplaces and authorised fuels are exempt from the ban. These are listed in the Orders and Regulations and are updated each year.

The most recent Regulations and Order are: