Skip to content

Schools Challenge Cymru

Related Links

Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.

The programme is targeted at 39 Pathways to Success schools facing challenges in their circumstances and stage of development.

The schools are receiving additional resources and expertise to undertake a programme of swift, sustainable improvement.
They have all been assigned an adviser, with a proven track record of school improvement.

Pathways to Success Schools and their advisers

  • Abersychan Comprehensive (Adviser: Roger Davies)
  • Abertillery Learning Community (Adviser: Tom Johnston)
  • Afon Taf High School (Adviser: Paul Coackley)
  • Barry Comprehensive School (Adviser: Andrew Morley)
  • Bedwas High School (Adviser: Sylvia Jones)
  • Bishop Hedley High School (Adviser: Andrew Morley)
  • Blackwood Comprehensive School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • Cantonian High School (Adviser: Andrew Morley)
  • Coleg Cymunedol Y Dderwen (Adviser: Ian Thompson)
  • Cwmbran High School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • Eastern High School (Adviser: John Beighton)
  • Ebbw Fawr Learning Community (Adviser: Roger Davies)
  • Glyn Derw/Michaelston Federation High School (Adviser: Peter Harrison)
  • Hawthorn High School (Adviser: Andrew Morley)
  • Heolddu Comprehensive School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • Llanwern High School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • Lliswerry High School (Adviser: Tom Johnston)
  • Milford Haven School (Adviser: Hefina Thomas)
  • Morriston Comprehensive (Adviser: Hefina Thomas)
  • Pen Y Dre High (Adviser: Hefina Thomas)
  • Pentrehafod School (Adviser: Peter Harrison)
  • Pontypridd High School (Adviser: Stuart Tucker) 
  • Porth County Community School (Adviser: Ian Thompson)
  • Rhosnesni High School (Adviser: Peter Harrison)
  • St Cenydd School (Adviser: Sylvia Jones)
  • St Illtyd’s Catholic High School (Adviser: Andrew Morley)
  • St Julian’s School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • St Martin’s School (Adviser: Sylvia Jones)
  • Tonypandy Community College (Adviser: Stuart Tucker)
  • Tonyrefail Comprehensive School (Adviser: Paul Coackley)
  • Tredegar Comprehensive School (Adviser: Tom Johnston)
  • West Monmouth School (Adviser: Steve Byatt)
  • Willows High School (Adviser: Sylvia Jones)
  • Ysgol Bro Dinefwr (Adviser: Hefina Thomas)
  • Ysgol Bryn Alyn (Adviser: Tom Johnson)
  • Ysgol Clywedog (Adviser: Roger Davies)
  • Ysgol Treffynnon (Adviser: Tom Johnson)
  • Ysgol Uwchradd Caergybi (Adviser: Roger Davies)

A Champions Group of former or current headteachers with extensive experience overlooks the challenge and provides guidance and direction. Schools Challenge Cymru is a 3 year programme with delivery continuing to the end of the 2016/17 academic year.