Skip to content

The school curriculum

Related Links

A new curriculum for Wales is being developed with education professionals across Wales with the aim of it being available to settings and schools by September 2018.

The programme of study for 3 to 19 year olds.

It is made up of the following 7 areas:

  • the Foundation Phase
  • skills development
  • the national curriculum
  • personal and social education
  • sex education
  • careers and the world of work
  • religious education.

The school curriculum is learner focussed, places an emphasis on skills development and ensures that it is appropriate for the specific needs of Wales.  

Guidance documents have been developed to support the implementation of the school curriculum. These documents, along with related key information, approaches and research can now be found on Learning Wales (external link).