Skip to content

GCE AS/A Levels in Applied Subjects

GCE AS and A levels have been available in a range of traditional subjects since 2000. In addition, since September 2005, they have been available in 10 vocational areas.

The structure of these was not changed as part of the 2008 review of AS/A levels. However, stretch and challenge was added to the A2 assessments and the A* grade introduced from summer 2010.  The following titles are available:

  • Applied art and design;
  • Applied business;
  • Applied ICT;
  • Applied science;
  • Engineering;
  • Health and social care;
  • Leisure studies;
  • Media: communication and production;
  • Performing arts; 
  • Travel and tourism.

There are five awarding bodies that offer GCE AS/A Level qualifications. You can find out which applied  AS/A levels they offer by visiting their websites: