Skip to content

Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales

Related Links

We want to enable our heritage and cultural institutions to maximise the economic benefits they bring to Welsh people.
Tell us if you want any of the documents on this page in an alternative format.
St Teilo's Church, St Fagans
Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales (AC-NMW) is dedicated to preserving, presenting and promoting the culture of Wales.

There are 7 sites across the country, telling the story of Wales from our earliest history to the present day:

  • National Museum Cardiff
  • St Fagans: National History Museum
  • National Slate Museum, Llanberis
  • Big Pit: National Coal Museum, Blaenafon
  • National Wool Museum, Dre-fach Felindre, Carmarthenshire
  • National Roman Legion Museum, Caerleon
  • National Waterfront Museum, Swansea.

Entry to all the sites is free. In 2013-14 over 1.6 million visitors enjoyed free entry to the seven AC-NMW sites.

To find out more about the Museum please visit the Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales website (external link).


Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales was founded by Royal Charter in 1907, and is a registered charity and a Welsh Government Sponsored Body. The Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Infrastructure issues a remit letter to the Museum every year. The sets out the Museum's role in relation to our strategic agenda, including details of the priorities and outputs expected, and how much funding will be provided.

Document Download

Adobe PDF document
Remit letter 2017-2018 (File size: 408KB)