Skip to content
Sign up to our: Newsletter | Newsfeeds

Appointments to the Welsh Language Partnership Council

Leighton Andrews, Minister for Education and Skills, has announced seven appointments to the new Welsh Language Partnership Council.
Wednesday 02 May 2012

Leighton Andrews, Minister for Education and Skills, has announced seven appointments to the new Welsh Language Partnership Council.
These appointments will run from 1 April 2012 to 31 March 2015.

The Partnership Council was established under Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011. The Partnership Council is responsible for giving advice and making representations to the Welsh Ministers in relation to the Welsh Ministers’ Welsh language strategy adopted under section 78 of the Government of Wales Act 2006 and in relation to the Welsh Ministers’ annual action plans under the strategy.

The newly appointed members are: Dr Lowri Angharad Ahronson, Efa Catrin Gruffudd Jones, Owain Siôn Gruffydd, Catherine Baldwin, Sali Burns, Hywel Jones, Dr Rhodri Llwyd Morgan. The Minister for Education and Skills will Chair the Partnership Council.

Members of the Partnership Council are not paid, but are reimbursed for reasonable travel and subsistence costs.  They have a time commitment of at least three days per year.

Mr Andrews said:

“The establishment of the new Welsh Language Partnership Council represents another example of this Government’s commitment to supporting and developing the Welsh language. In the first year of this Assembly we have introduced swift and meaningful change on the Welsh language agenda.

These appointments will provide further fresh ideas, support and challenge to Ministers as we begin to implement the new Welsh Language Strategy and as we implement our Action Plan for 2012-13.”  

Although these appointments do not come within the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ remit, the Nolan principles were taken into account in making the appointments.

All appointments are made on merit.

Member #1: Dr Lowri Angharad Ahronson – Welsh Language Scheme Director, Bangor University

Member #2: Efa Catrin Gruffudd Jones, Chief Executive, Urdd Gobaith Cymru

Member #3: Owain Siôn Gruffydd – Chief Executive, Menter Bro Dinefwr and Trywydd

Member #4: Catherine Baldwin, Welsh Language Officer, South Wales Fire and Rescue Service

Member #5: Sali Burns, Registered Mental Health Nurse, Psychological Services, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board

Member #6: Hywel Jones, Chief Executive, Mudiad Meithrin

Member #7: Dr Rhodri Llwyd Morgan, Assistant Director, Education and Community Services, Ceredigion County Council



About social bookmarking



A living language: a language for living - Welsh language strategy 2012 to 2017 Welsh Language Strategy: Action Plan 2012–13


Welsh language 02 May 2012 Programme for Government - Culture and Heritage Welsh language Mid Wales North Wales South East Wales South West Wales

News by date

May 2016
<< Apr    
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
Follow us on