Skip to content
Sign up to our: Newsletter | Newsfeeds

"New Team Delivers for Wales"

First Minister Carwyn Jones has today [13 May 2011] announced the members of his new Cabinet as the Welsh Government begins its ambitious programme to stand up for Wales and create a country of equality, opportunity and social justice.
Friday 13 May 2011
"New Team Delivers for Wales"
"New Team Delivers for Wales"

The new cabinet, which has been approved by Her Majesty The Queen, will enhance the way the Welsh Government delivers public services; protects and improves the health of the people of Wales, and work tirelessly to stimulate and grow the Welsh economy.

Three new Ministers join the Cabinet – former Deputy Minister for Children, Huw Lewis, has been appointed as Minister for Housing, Regeneration and Heritage; former Counsel General, John Griffiths, becomes the Minister for the Environment and Sustainable Development, while former Deputy Minister for Skills, Lesley Griffiths becomes Minister for Health and Social Services.

Three Deputy Ministers have been appointed; Gwenda Thomas has been reappointed as Deputy Minister for Children and Social Services; Jeff Cuthbert will assume responsibility for improving the skills level in Wales as Deputy Minister for Skills, and Alun Davies has been appointed as Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and European Programmes.

Announcing details of his new Cabinet team, the First Minister said:

"I am delighted to have appointed such a talented and able team to deliver on our commitments to the people of Wales.

"We will work tirelessly to improve the delivery of public services in Wales and create opportunities for everyone as we fight to protect Wales from the challenging financial and economic situation we are in.

"At the heart of all we do will be our determination to fight for jobs and grow the Welsh economy. Ours is an ambitious, positive vision of the nation we can become. In everything we do we will stand up for Wales and lead our country forward with ambition."

Cabinet details are as follows;

Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AC/AM
Prif Weinidog Cymru/First Minister of Wales
Delivery Unit, Energy, Wales for Africa, Intergovernmental relations, Wales in the World, European Union, Civil Service Reform

Edwina Hart  AC/AM OStJ MBE
Minister for Business, Enterprise, Technology & Science
Y Gweinidog Busnes, Menter, Thechnoleg & Gwyddoniaeth

Lesley Griffiths AC/AM
Minister for Health and Social Services
Y Gweinidog Iechyd a Gwasanaethau Cymdeithasol

Jane Hutt AC/AM
Minister for Finance and Leader of the House
Y Gweinidog Cyllid ac Arweinydd y Tŷ

John Griffiths AC/AM
Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development
Gweinidog yr Amgylchedd a Datblygu Cynaliadwy

Leighton Andrews AC/AM
Minister for Education and Skills
Y Gweinidog Addysg a Sgiliau

Carl Sargeant AC/AM
Minister for Local Government and Communities
Y Gweinidog Llywodraeth Leol a Chymunedau

Huw Lewis AC/AM
Minister for Housing, Regeneration and Heritage
Y Gweinidog Tai, Adfywio a Threftadaeth

Deputy Ministers

Gwenda Thomas AC/AM
Deputy Minister for Children and Social Services
Y Dirprwy Weinidog Plant a Gwasanaethau Cymdeithasol

Jeff Cuthbert AC/AM
Deputy Minister for Skills
Y Dirprwy Weinidog Sgiliau

Alun Davies AC/AM
Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and European Programmes
Y Dirprwy Weinidog Amaethyddiaeth, Bwyd, Pysgodfeydd a Rhaglenni Ewropeaidd



About social bookmarking



First Minister 13 May 2011 Mid Wales North Wales South East Wales South West Wales

News by date

May 2016
<< Apr    
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
Follow us on