Skip to content

The Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales

Independant Remuneration Panel for Wales

The Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales

Group of people

The Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales was established and operated under The Local Authorities (Allowances for Members) (Wales) Regulations 2007 (“the Regulations”) made by the National Assembly for Wales.

The Panel is independent of central and local government and has been operating since 2008.

The Panel consists of six members: 

  • John Bader (Chair) 
  • Roger Symonds
  • Sarah Willey
  • Gregory Owens 
  • Stephen Mullholland
  • Julie May

Watch this short video (External link) to hear former Panel Member, Anne Abel, talking about her experience as a member of a public body and why it is important that more women, people with disabilities and people from a range of ethnic minorities apply for public appointments.

If you are interested in the idea of taking up a public appointment and would like to know more contact the Welsh Government's Public Appointments Unit (External link) or the Women in Public Life Portal (External link).

Related Links

Have you ever considered standing as a candidate in a local government election? Did you know that elected members receive remuneration? Read this leaflet to find out more.