Skip to content

Jane Hutt AM

Jane Hutt AM
Biographical details and ministerial responsibilities of the Leader of the House and Chief Whip.

Educated at the University of Kent, the London School of Economics and Bristol University, Jane is also an Honorary Fellow of University of Wales Institute Cardiff.

In recognition of her role in furthering procurement practice, Jane has been awarded an honorary Fellowship of the Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply and a Fellowship of the Procurement Best Practice Academy.

Jane has also been made an honorary member of the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA) for her work in public finance.

Prior to her election to the National Assembly for Wales, Jane was director of Chwarae Teg (Fair Play) and was the Welsh member on the New Opportunities (UK) Fund and was an elected Member of the former South Glamorgan County Council.

Jane is married with 2 children, is a Welsh learner, and lives in Barry.

Having served as Minister for Health and Social Services (1999-2005), Minister for Assembly Business, Children and Equalities (2005-2007) and Minister for Children, Education, Lifelong Learning and Skills (2007-2009), Jane was appointed Minister for Budget and Business in December 2009. Following re-election to the National Assembly for Wales in May 2011, Jane Hutt was appointed Minister for Finance and Leader of the House and in March 2013 was appointed Minister for Finance. In September 2014, she was appointed Minister for Finance and Government Business. In May 2016, she was appointed Leader of the House and Chief Whip.

The Leader of the House and Chief Whip is responsible for:

  • Manage Government Business in the Assembly in line with Standing Orders
  • Delivery of the weekly Business Statement
  • Represent the Government in Business Committee
  • Liaison with other Parties on the Government’s Legislative Programme (but not individual Bills which remain the responsibility of the lead Cabinet Secretary).

Writing to ministers

Contact Jane Hutt by email at:

We aim to provide a response to correspondence to ministers, including email within 17 working days. Ministers will respond to matters that fall within their portfolio. Please follow ‘Writing to ministers’ to contact the right minister.